£265,000 Each For Germany If…  


German players will receive £265,000 each if they successfully defend their World Cup title in Russia next year, the country’s football association (DFB) said on yesterday.

When Germany won the title at the Brazil World Cup in 2014, the players received a bonus of £265,000 each.

The team under coach Joachim Low will receive no payout for group stage victories or for reaching the round of 16, but a spot in the quarter-finals will earn each of them £66,000 and a semi-final place £110,000.

A losing final will still earn them a bonus worth £175,000 each.

‘This gives early and necessary calm and clarity before the tournament so that we can concentrate on the sporting tasks,’ said Germany team manager Oliver Bierhoff in a statement.

‘It is a good sign when players are backing this (bonus) performance-based principle.’

A title win in Russia would make Germany only the third nation after Italy (1934-38) and Brazil (1958-62) to succeed in a world title defence.

Germany have been drawn in Group F for the tournament next year, along with Mexico, Sweden and South Korea.

Below is the breakdown.

Group stage win: Nothing

Round of 16 win: Nothing

Quarter-final spot: £66,000

Semi-final spot: £110,000

Runner-up finish: £175,000

World Cup winners: £265,000 


Related Posts