Ghana Hosts Africa


Lawyer Akpokavie (2nd R) explaining a point at the media briefing

Hockey president, Lawyer Richard Akpokavie, has announced that preparations are far advanced for the push off of this year’s Africa Cup for Club Championship.

He told the media in Accra yesterday that 12 clubs would be battling for honours in the competition scheduled for January 20 to 28 at the Theodosia Okoh Hockey Stadium.

Ghana Revenue Authority (Ghana), hockey team

Trustees Hockey Team of SSNIT (Ghana), Eastern Company Club -defending champions (Egypt)

El Sharkia Club (Egypt), Niger Flickers Hockey Club (Nigeria) and

Police Machine Hockey Club (Nigeria), will battle for honours in the men’s category.

The ladies category would be represented by GRA, Revenue Authority (Ghana), Police Hockey Club (Ghana ), Telkom Hockey Club – defending champions (Kenya), Strathmore Hockey Club (Kenya)  KADA Queens Hockey Club (Nigeria) and Yobe Desert Queens Hockey Club (Nigeria).

The hockey president mentioned that a Local Organizing Committee (LOC) headed by Kwame Essah has been formed to see to the effective running of the tourney.

“All is set for the hosting of the competition, we have purposed to host and win it. Fixtures would be ready by this weekend; six games would be played a day with one under flood light. In all, we would be spending between 250 to 300,000 Cedis for the hosting of the tournament,” said the hockey boss.

National Sports Authority Director, Robert Sarfo Mensah, indicated that his outfit was in talks with the Youth and Sports Ministry to ensure a successful showpiece.

It is an annual competition organized by the African Hockey Federation and this will be the 4th time Ghana is hosting it. The Executive Board of the AfHF, led by its President, Mr. Ahmed Seif, is expected in the country  for the tournament.

The AfHF has appointed Mr. Mark Taljard (South Africa) and Ms. Hulda Ambe (Nigeria) as Tournament Directors for the competition. Prof. Ediga Agbo of Nigeria has also been appointed the Umpires Manager, whilst Ghanaians Richard Bayitse and Ms Joyce Datsa are the Technical Officials.

 By Kofi Owusu Aduonum


Related Posts